Co-Chairs: alithia zamantakis and Lindsey Wilkinson

Visit Our Blog

The S4JT Committee on Supporting Trans, Non-Binary, and Intersex Issues is made up of a number of subcommittees tasked with different roles in supporting scholars, their information can be found in the table below.

Mentorship Committee
Natalie Ingraham, Liddy Hope
    Mentoring program – run program; provide mentors with best practices for supporting trans, non-binary, and intersex graduate students and junior faculty. Work with other sociology mentoring programs to better include and support trans, non-binary, and intersex scholars.
Best Practices Committee
alithia zamantakis, Dakota Kane Tangent Raynes, Emily McKendry-Smith
    Put together a best practices guide for supporting trans, non-binary, and intersex students (both undergraduate and graduate level).
Graduate Student Survey Committee
Simone Kolysh, Lindsey Wilkinson, Jess Goldstein-Kral, Sonny Nordmarken
    Survey on trans, non-binary, and intersex graduate students in sociology: continue to administer, then analyze results, share with the discipline, make recommendations for changes.
Demographics Committee
Alex Hanna, Nik Lampe, Alicia VandeVusse
    Trans- and intersex-inclusive demographics: push ASA and other sociology organizations to collect information on members’ sex, gender identity, and gender expression; ensure that demographic questions cover full gender diversity among ASA members; encourage members to provide this information.
Conferences Committee
Griffin Lacy, Ash Scarborough, Jenny Pearson
    Make sociology conferences safe and empowering for trans, non-binary, and intersex people. This includes pushing sociology organizations to list gender pronouns on conference badges, ensuring that gender-inclusive, accessible restrooms are available at conferences, creating safe spaces for trans, non-binary, and intersex people, and organizing social gatherings for trans, non-binary, and intersex scholars at sociology conferences.