Co-Chairs: bee coston and Cary Costello

Visit Our Blog

The S4JT Committee on Advancing Public Understanding of Trans, Non-Binary, and Intersex Issues is made up of a number of subcommittees tasked with different roles in advancing public understanding, their information can be found in the table below.

Blog Committee
bee costen, Cary Costello

    Launch a S4TJ blog for trans, non-binary, and intersex studies experts to weigh in on current events that affect the trans, non-binary, and intersex communities.
Professional Organization Liaison Committee
Aalap Bommaraju, Michael Ryan

    Work with ASA and other sociology organizations to provide expertise on trans, non-binary, and intersex-related current events, court cases (e.g., amicus briefs, and proposed legislation.)
Media Experts Committee
Jay Irwin, Bretton Fosbrook

  1. List of trans, non-binary, and intersex studies experts – continue to recruit experts to be listed; advertise the list to the media; connect experts with the media, particularly on trans- and intersex-related current events. Share this list with ASA and other sociology organizations, and encourage listed experts to add their names to these organizations’ databases of experts.

  2. Advertise the template email for trans, non-binary, and intersex studies scholars to send to their media/public relations offices to note that they are an expert whom the media can contact on issues related to trans, non-binary, and/or intersex communities.